Branch History

History of Prescott Branch

On March 12, 1949, the Prescott Branch was organized at the home of Mrs. W.J. Oliver.  Dean Mildred Sayre, Arizona State College, State President of AAUW explained the organization and purposes of AAUW and poured at the tea following the meeting.  Accompanying Mrs. Sayre were Miss Winona Montgomery, State Membership Chair; Miss Jean Clark, President of the Phoenix Branch; Mrs. Robert Hopper, Chair of the Recent Graduates Group; Mrs. Charles Everett; and Mrs. Jack Fishleder of Wickenberg.

Official recognition was reached in July 1949 when Prescott was accepted by AAUW.  We were wished “Good Luck” and told AAUW was looking forward to hearing frequent good things of the Prescott Branch.  In the AAUW Bulletin, September 19, 1949, Volume 1, Number 1, a welcome was extended to Prescott as the 10th branch in Arizona.  There were 26 members.

The first year went well with meetings held in the homes of members, good speakers such as Dr. Florence Yount, attendance at the State Convention, a picnic at Thumb Butte for members and families, a tea, and a Great Books Study Group.

In the fall of 1950, Prescott bravely hosted the State Workshop.  The Directors’ dinner was at the Auto Rest Motel with a canasta party at the Monday Club for delegates who arrived early.  The President’s Breakfast was at the Hassayampa Hotel.  Other meetings were held at Sharlot Hall Museum and the Methodist Church.  Again in 1990 and 2003 Prescott Branch hosted the State Convention.  Four members have presided over AAUW-Arizona as State Presidents: Edith Scholey (1956-58), Jean Hunnicutt (1976-1978), Mary Shenefield (1995-1997), and Sara Wolters (2010-2012).

Our members have been active in community, state, national, and world activities.  The branch has been continually recognized for membership, leadership, visibility, public policy, community action, social justice, and fundraising for the national AAUW Funds and our local scholarship funds.  In 1980, the branch helped establish Faith House, which then became Stepping Stones, an agency in West Yavapai County providing emergency shelter and support services to women and children who are victims of domestic violence.  The branch also advocated for and assisted in the development of the Del E. Webb Family Enrichment Center (FEC) at Yavapai College, which opened in 2007 to provide childcare for children of faculty and students at the college.  The Branch continues to support female students in need of childcare assistance at the FEC by awarding scholarships through the branch’s endowment, the Mary Alice Moulton Childcare Assistance Fund. We are continuing to raise funds for the AAUW Centennial Scholarship and hope to begin awarding scholarships during the 2014-2015 school year.

Prescott Branch Recent Past Presidents

YearsPast Presidents
2014-15Patti Blackwood
2013-14Anne Barton
2012-13D. Gail Bleeker & Deb McCasland/Anne Barton
2011-12Sharon Groves
2010-11Linda Frith
2009-10Lynn Ray
2008-09Mary Elizabeth Wolter (Zibbie)
2007-08Sharon Scanlan
2006-07Cathy Cunningham
2005-06D. Gail Bleeker/Cathy Cunningham
2004-05Susan King
2003-04Jan Steiner
2002-03Edi Taylor-Richards
2001-02Mary Alice Moulton
2000-01Mary Hansen
1999-2000Wini Daniel & Clover Gowing
1997-99Doris Piatak & Annette Schiller
1996-97Vanette Hickey
1994-96Sarah Hoover
1992-94Mary Shenefield
1990-92Sue Lynch
1989-90Jean Hunnicutt
1987-88Suzy Furlong